Governing Board

Metropolitan Education District was created as a joint powers authority (JPA) by six school districts in Santa Clara County. The District is governed by a Board consisting of one representative from each of the six Santa Clara County school districts:

  • Campbell Union High School District
  • East Side Union High School District
  • Los Gatos-Saratoga Union High School District
  • Milpitas Unified School District
  • San Jose Unified School District
  • Santa Clara Unified School District

Each Board member is appointed by their home district for a two-year term.

Linda Goytia

Linda-Goytia-for-Metro-Ed.jpgGoverning Board President 
Campbell Union High School District

Term Expires: December 2021

Ms. Goytia was elected to the Campbell Union HSD Board in 2012 and is the current Board President. Her term expires in 2020. Linda Goytia taught in the CUHSD for 38 years. She holds a B.S. in biology and an M.S. in English and served for 13 years as a mentor teacher and intern coach. Linda was the district’s Teacher of the Year and the CA League of High Schools Region V Educator of the Year for 2001. She was also the recipient of five Dorothy Wright Awards for Excellence in Education from SJSU and received a Fulbright Memorial Fund Scholarship in 2004 to study education in Japanese schools. Before retiring in 2009, she chaired the District’s Domestic Violence Curriculum Project. Linda raised two sons who graduated from the CUHSD and feels deep ties to the community. She is also a strong advocate for adult education and career technical education.

J. Manuel Herrera

Governing Board Vice President
East Side Union High School District
Term Expires: December 2021

J. Manuel Herrera is a native of San Jose, an alumni of William C. Overfelt High School. He attended the University of Pacific and received his Masters Degree in Urban Studies from Occidental College.

Since July 2000, Mr. Herrera has been a program administrator for the National Conference for Community & Justice, a national human relations organization (now known regionally as the Silicon Valley Conference for Community & Justice). He was elected to the ESUHSD Board of Trustees in 1990 and has demonstrated his leadership by chairing and serving on numerous subcommittees and in all board offices.

Albert Gonzalez

Albert Gonzalez MetroED Board Website PhotoGoverning Board Clerk
Santa Clara Unified School District
Term Expires: December 2022


Michael Tsai

mtsi.jpgGoverning Board Member & Audit Committee Rep
Milpitas Unified School District
Term Expires: December 2020

Mr. Tsai is a graduate of extremely competitive bay area public schools and a longtime tutor.  He understands what it takes for our students to reach the next level of academic success.  He graduated from UC Berkeley in 2010.  Afterwards he worked with technology startups, and founded a successful tutoring business.

Teresa Castellanos

Teresa_Castellanos.jpgGoverning Board Member
San Jose Unified School District
Term Expires: December 2020

Ms. Castellanos coordinates immigrant programs for the Santa Clara County Office of Human Relations. She is the mother of four district graduates, one from Lincoln High and three from the charter school Downtown College Preparatory. She would like to involve parents in schools. She has served on the Standing Advisory Committee as a representative for the Voluntary Integration Plan as well as the District English Learners Advisory Committee (DELAC). She has also served on the Curriculum Advisory Committee representing Special Education (SELPA IV).

Katherine Tseng

tseng.jpgGoverning Board Member & Audit Committee Rep
Los Gatos-Saratoga Union High School District
Term Expires: December 2020

Ms. Tseng has served as Co-President for the Saratoga High School PTSO, Redwood Middle School PTA, Argonaut Elementary School PTA, Saratoga Education Foundation, Music Boosters, Saratoga High School Foundation and as a member of the Executive Board of Saratoga High School Sports Boosters. She has served for six years on the advisory board of the Saratoga Union School District and for the past year on the LGSUHSD Superintendent’s Advisory Council. She was one of the co-chairs of the LGSUHSD Parcel Tax, Measure A campaign – successfully leading the passage of the first ever district parcel tax. She currently serves as the Liaison to the District Audit Committee. She holds an M.A. in Statistics and has 15 years business experience as an actuarial consultant. She is the parent of two children, one an SHS graduate and one a current student of Saratoga High School.